top of page


Artist, Songwriter, Producer

D’Sound started out with singer Simone, drummer Kim and bassplayer Jonny. The band members consider D`Sound as a modern pop band with flavours of neo soul, jazz og funk. When D’Sound was formed in 1993 the line up was Simone, Jonny and Kim Ofstad. They had their first rehearsals in a damp Oslo basement. The band hit the Norwegian charts with the single “Real Name”, topping both sales and radio charts.

Their debut album, ”Spice of Life”, was subsequently released at the beginning of 1997, and established D’Sound as a band of major significance on the Norwegian music scene. Their fusion of elements from acid jazz, neo soul, soul, funk, pop and drum’n’bass created a distinct and international sound, deservedly praised by both critics and the record buying public.

In 2018 Simone decided to leave D’Sound and the band continued to release new material with featured vocalists. 

D’Sound’s first album without Simone, “Unicorn", was released in September 2019, with Mirjam Omdal as a central feature throughout the album. Other feature artists are Armi Millare (Up Dharma Down) and Adrian Jørgensen.

The band recently released their collaboration-album "25", as a celebration of their 25th anniversary. The album features artists like the Grammy-winning R&B singer Macy Gray, Shontelle - the singer behind hits like "Impossible" and "T-Shirt", up and coming soul artist Pher and Corey Henry, newly Grammy-winning songwriter Autumn Rowe, vocalist of the band "Up Dharma Down" Armi Millare, Norwegain Grammy-nominated singer Marie Noreger, and the bands' central feature singer Mirjam Omdal. The album also features a song with Simone, the first new release since 2018 that features all the original members. 

DSOUND BW by 300Wald-15.jpg
  • Instagram
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
  • TikTok
  • Spotify
bottom of page